Members of staff are observing the children through play based activities both child and adult led in both Coots and Fledglings. The children's development is monitored using the Early Year Foundation Stage Framework which coversĀ  birth to the age of 5.

There are seven areas, these are:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

When a child starts with us we create a learning journey to show their development and progression either using an online system called Tapestry. The aim is that when a child reaches the end of reception that they will have met the Early Learning Goals.

To achieve a 'Good Level of Development' (GLD) by the end of Year R children must reach the Early Learning Goals in all three prime areas and in Literacy and Mathematics.

Please go here to find out more information about the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Designed, produced, hosted & maintained by Creative Corner
HomeLog inDashboardValid HTML